The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup of Cricket was postponed last year due to the Covid-19 pandemic and was moved to Australia and then India before finally ending up in Oman and the United Arab Emirates.

bet on cricket at bet365

The 16-nation event begins Sunday, October 17th with Ireland taking on the Netherlands and runs until Sunday, November 14th when the final will be held.

There will be a total of 42 group games before the semifinals and final take place for 45 matches in all. The tournament sees the teams split into two different sections. The first round of play features two groups of four playing in a round-robin format with the top two nations in each group advancing to the next stage of action which gets underway on October 23rd.

Group A of the preliminary stage is made up of  Ireland, Namibia, the Netherlands and Sri Lanka with Group B consisting of Bangladesh, Oman, Papua New Guinea and Scotland.

The top-ranked teams will be playing in the Super 12 section and split into two groups of six with the top two nations in each group advancing the the semifinals.

Group 1 of the round-robin Super 12 consists of Australia, England, South Africa and the West Indies as well as the Group A first-round winner and the Group B first-round runner up.

Group 2 is made up of Afghanistan, India, New Zealand and Pakistan as well as the Group B first-round winner and the Group A first-round runners-up.

This is the seventh edition of the event with the last coming in 2016 in India when the West Indies downed England in the final.

The first T20 World Cup in 2007 was won by India with Pakistan winning in 2009, England in 2010, the West Indies in 2012, Sri Lanka in 2014 and the West Indies again in 2016. Sri Lanka has also appeared in the most finals at three as they were runners-up in 2009 and 2012.

Heading into the T20 World Cup, England is the top-ranked team in the world in this format of cricket followed by India (2nd), Pakistan (3rd), New Zealand (4th), South Africa (5th), Bangladesh (6th), Australia (7th), Afghanistan (8th), West Indies (9th), Sri Lanka (10th), Ireland (12th), Scotland (14th), Papua New Guinea (15th), Netherlands (17th), Oman (18th) and Namibia (19th). 

It should be noted that England will be without fast bowler Jofra Archer due to injury and star player Ben Stokes will miss the tournament due to personal reasons and a finger injury.

The bet365 oddsmakers currently list India as the favourites to win the ICC T20 World Cup at +250 followed by England at +350, New Zealand and the West Indies at +600, Australia at +650,

Pakistan at +1000, South Africa at +1200, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh at +4000, Afghanistan at +5000,

Ireland at +50000, Scotland+100000, Netherlands, Oman and Namibia at +100000 and

Papua Guinea at +200000.

bet365 also offers several other betting options on the tournament as well as on each individual match. Some of the most popular tournament wagers include to reach the final, top team bowler, the team to hit the most sixes, group betting, the top team batsman, naming the finalists and the team with the highest-scoring innings etc. 

bet on cricket at bet365

About author